Geography of Tristan da Cunha – The Ultimate Free Guide 2021

Tristan da Cunha is an archipelago of five islands in the southern Atlantic Ocean, the largest of which is the island of Tristan da Cunha itself and the second-largest, the remote bird haven, Gough Island.

  • It forms part of a wider territory called Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha which includes Saint Helena and Ascension Island.
  • Tristan da Cunha is thought to have been formed by a long-lived center of up welling mantle called the Tristan hotspot. Tristan da Cunha is the main island of the Tristan da Cunha archipelago, which consists of the following islands:
    1. Inaccessible Island
    2. Nightingale Islands
    3. Middle Island
    4. Stoltenhoff Island
    5. Gough Island

Geography of Tristan da Cunha

Map of Tristan da Cunha

Geography of Tristan da Cunha
  • Tristan da Cunha is a British Overseas Territory with its own constitution. There is no airstrip on the main island; the only way of travelling in and out of Tristan is by boat, a six-day trip from South Africa.

Sovereign state:

United Kingdom


98 km2





Bordering Countries:

St Helena, Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha.

Total Size:

Total 270 km2

Geographical Coordinates:

37.1052° S, 12.2777° W

World Region or Continent:

South Atlantic Ocean

First settlement:


Official Language:


Geographical High Point:

2,062 m (6,765 ft)


  • Average Maximum: 14
  • Average Mean : 12.5

Major cities:

Edinburgh of the Seven Seas

List of mountains and Hills:

  • Queen Mary’s Peak
  • Mount Olav
  • Edinburgh Peak
  • Expedition Peak
  • Green Mountain
  • The Peak
  • Centre Rowett
  • Diana’s Peak
  • Nigel’s Cap
  • North Rowett
  • West Rowett
  • High Peak
  • False Peak
  • Mountain or hill
  • Sandy Bay Ridge
  • Sea-hen Crag
  • High Hill
  • White Point
  • Hag’s Tooth
  • Hooper’s Ridge
  • Flagstaff Hill
  • Halley’s Mount
  • Tavistock Crag
  • The Saddle
  • Triple Peak
  • The Haystack
  • Weather Post
  • Long Range
  • Mount Argus
  • High Knoll
  • Joan Hill
  • Blue Point
  • Green Hill
  • Stone Top Ridge
  • Swale’s Fell
  • Red Hill
  • White Hill
  • Devil’s Ashpit
  • Piccolo Hill
  • White Hill
  • Boulder Hill
  • Round Hill
  • Cave Gulch Hill
  • Red Hill

Major Lakes:

  • Queen Mary’s lake
  • The Ponds.

Famous Places:

  • Calshot Harbour. Points of Interest & Landmarks.
  • Post Office and Tourism Centre. Visitor Centres.
  • Thatched House Museum. Points of Interest & Landmarks.
  • Albatross Bar. Bars & Clubs.
  • Tristan da Cunha Golf Club. Golf Courses.
  • Queen Mary’s Peak. Mountains.

Major Geographical Features:

Biomes & Ecosystems:

Temperate Grasslands, Savannas, and Shrub lands.


South Atlantic Ocean

Mountain Ranges:

Queen Mary’s Peak2,062 metres
Mount Olav1,969 metres

Towns in Tristan da Cunha:

Edinburgh of the Seven Seas

Facts about Tristan da Cunha:

  • Tristan da Cunha is a hotspot volcano that last erupted in 1961 and 1962. At that time the population was evacuated and transported to England.
  • The main language of the island is English but they use a Patois English in speech. The currency is British pound sterling and only cash is accepted as they cannot facilitate card transactions.
  • The main industry of Tristan da Cunha is fishing and farming.
  • The entire island is made up of upwelling magma called the Tristan Hotspot.
  • It became a dependency of the colony of St. Helena in 1938.
  • This island is only accessible by a 7 day boat journey from Cape Town, South Africa.
  • More than 50% of islanders have partial evidence of asthma and twenty-three per cent have a definite diagnosis.

See Also:

World Map



Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 0 comments

Leave a Reply: