Geography of Morocco – The Free Ultimate Guide 2021

Learn the facts and Geography of Morocco including Major Geographical Features, Natural resources, Region, area, Capital, Border countries, rivers in Morocco.

  • Morocco is officially the Kingdom of Morocco, is the northwesternmost country in the Maghreb region of North Africa.
  • It overlooks the Mediterranean Sea to the north and the Atlantic Ocean to the west, and has land borders with Algeria to the east, and the disputed territory of Western Sahara to the south.
  • Morocco also claims the Spanish exclaves of Ceuta, Melilla and Peñón de Vélez de la Gomera, and several small Spanish-controlled islands off its coast.
  • Inhabited since the Paleolithic Era over 90,000 years ago, the first Moroccan state was established by Idris I in 788. It was subsequently ruled by a series of independent dynasties, reaching its zenith as a regional power in the 11th and 12th centuries, under the Almoravid and Almohad dynasties, when it controlled most of the Iberian Peninsula and the Maghreb.
  • Since independence, Morocco has remained relatively stable and prosperous. It has the fifth-largest economy in Africa and wields significant influence in both Africa and the Arab world; it is considered a middle power in global affairs and holds membership in the Arab League, the Union for the Mediterranean, and the African Union

Geography of Morocco

Geography of Morocco
Figure: Geography of Morocco – Western Sahara


Maghreb region of North Africa


710,850 km2





Bordering Countries:

Morocco borders Algeria to the east and southeast, Western Sahara to the south, the Atlantic Ocean to the west, and the Mediterranean Sea to the north.

Total Size:

274,460 sq mi

Geographical Coordinates:

34°02′N 6°51′W

World Region or Continent:


General Terrain:

The terrain of Morocco is largely mountainous. The Atlas Mountains stretch from the central north to the southwest. It expands to about 1,350 kilometres (840 mi) and is the dorsal spine of the country. The massive range expands to about 250 kilometres (160 mi) from Tangier in the west to Nador eastward.

Geographical Low Point:

Sebkha Tah −55 m

Geographical High Point:

Toubkal mountain 4,165 m


Climate in morocco is is expected to significantly impact Morocco on multiple dimensions, just like for other countries in the MENA region. As a coastal country with hot and arid climates, environmental impacts from climate change are likely to be wide and varied. Analysis of these environmental changes on the economy of Morocco are expected to create challenges at all levels of the economy.

Major cities:

  • Casablanca
  • Fez
  • Tangier
  • Marrakesh
  • Salé
  • Meknes
  • Rabat
  • Oujda
  • Kenitra
  • Agadir
  • Tetouan
  • Temara
  • Safi
  • Mohammedia
  • Khouribga
  • El Jadida
  • Beni Mellal
  • Aït Melloul
  • Nador
  • Dar Bouazza
  • Taza
  • Settat
  • Berrechid
  • Khemisset
  • Inezgane
  • Ksar El Kebir
  • Larache
  • Guelmim
  • Khenifra
  • Berkane
  • Taourirt
  • Bouskoura
  • Fquih Ben Salah
  • Dcheira El Jihadia
  • Oued Zem
  • El Kelaa Des Sraghna
  • Sidi Slimane
  • Errachidia
  • Guercif
  • Oulad Teima
  • Ben Guerir
  • Tifelt
  • Lqliaa
  • Taroudant
  • Sefrou
  • Essaouira
  • Fnideq
  • Sidi Kacem
  • Tiznit
  • Tan-Tan
  • Ouarzazate
  • Souk El Arbaa
  • Youssoufia
  • Lahraouyine
  • Martil
  • Ain Harrouda
  • Suq as-Sabt Awlad an-Nama
  • Skhirat
  • Ouazzane
  • Benslimane
  • Al Hoceima
  • Beni Ansar
  • M’diq
  • Sidi Bennour
  • Midelt
  • Azrou
  • Drargua

Major Land forms:

These landforms include the Inaouene and Sebou valleys. Also reaching into the northern region are the Rif and Beni-Snassen mountains, the Loukko and Moulouya valleys, and the plateaus of Guercif, Saka and Gareb. The Rif Mountains stand as perhaps the most majestic of these landforms.

Major Rivers and Lakes:

Major Rivers:

  • Draa River
  • Oum Er-Rbia
  • Moulouya
  • Sebou
  • Dades
  • Ziz
  • Tensift
  • Bou Regreg
  • Sous
  • Loukkos

Major Lakes:

No lakes in Morocco.

Natural Resources:

Natural Resources

Major Geographical Features:

Biomes & Ecosystems:

Mediterranean woodlands and forests. Morocco is a diverse country with Atlantic and Mediterranean coasts, hot deserts, alpine peaks, grasslands, and forests.


Morocco proper is divided into three natural regions: (1) the fertile northern coastal plain along the Mediterranean, which also contains Er Rif, mountains varying in elevation up to about 2,400 m (8,000 ft); (2) the rich plateaus and lowlands lying between the three parallel ranges of the rugged Atlas Mountains, which extend from the Atlantic coast in the southwest to Algeria and the Mediterranean in the northeast; and (3) the semiarid area in southern and eastern Morocco, which merges into the Sahara Desert. The Atlas Mountains, with an average elevation of 3,350 m (11,000 ft), contain some of the highest peaks of North Africa, including Mt. Toubkal (4,165 m/13,665 ft), the highest of all. South of the Atlas are the Anti-Atlas Mountains, with volcanic Mt. Siroua (3,300 m/10,800 ft). The Western Sahara is rocky, sandy, and sparsely populated, unsuited for agriculture but rich in phosphate deposits.


North Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea.


Chafarinas Islands.

Mountain Ranges:

  • Toubkal
  • M’Goun
  • Jbel Tidirhine
  • Jbel Bou Naceur
  • Ouanoukrim
  • Jbel Ayachi
  • Jbel Aklim
  • Jebel Yagour
  • Jbel Bou Iblane
  • Jebel Kelti
  • Jebel Musa
  • Mount Zagora
  • Mount Amchad
  • Jbel Kissane

Regions of Morocco:

  • Tanger-Tétouan-Al Hoceïma
  • L’Oriental
  • Fès-Meknès
  • Rabat-Salé-Kénitra
  • Béni Mellal-Khénifra
  • Casablanca-Settat
  • Marrakech-Safi
  • Drâa-Tafilalet
  • Souss-Massa
  • Guelmim-Oued Noun
  • Laâyoune-Sakia El Hamra
  • Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab

See Also:

World Map


Naveed Tawargeri

Hi, I'm Naveed Tawargeri, and I'm the owner and creator of this blog. I'm a Software Developer with a passion for Programming. 

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 0 comments

Leave a Reply: